Contact Us
(317) 924-3311

Local First Responders Honored as Part of 52nd Annual Awards Program

By Laura O'Brien on 5/1/20 10:05 AM

Firefighters, Police Officers, Sheriff’s Deputies and Communicators Recognized for Exceptional Service

INDIANAPOLIS – Public safety personnel representing the Indianapolis Fire and Metropolitan Police Departments as well as the Marion County Sheriff’s Office were recognized this week as part of the 52nd Annual Fire, Police & Deputy Sheriff’s Community Recognition Program, the only program that recognizes employees from all of these agencies. Citizens Energy Group is proud to serve as the program’s title sponsor.

Awards are usually presented at a luncheon attended by Mayor Joe Hogsett, IFD Chief Ernest Malone, IMPD Chief Randal Taylor, Marion County Sheriff Kerry Forestal and Citizens Energy Group President & CEO Jeffrey Harrison. However, due to the COVID-19 emergency, this year’s awards were instead presented to each individual winner by their respective departments.

This year’s top award winners are as follows:

Firefighter of the Year, sponsored by Citizens Energy Group: Private Andrew Hawes
Officer of the Year, sponsored by Eli Lilly & Company: Officer Jerome Barker
Sheriff’s Deputy of the Year, sponsored by Frost Brown Todd LLC: Sergeant Alejandro Lastra

A complete list of awards, nominees, winners and sponsors can be found here.

The program is sponsored by nearly 40 businesses and local organizations, with Citizens Energy Group serving as the title sponsor. Citizens is proud to continue the tradition of recognizing outstanding public safety personnel, which was first established by the Indianapolis Water Company in 1968.

About Citizens Energy Group

Citizens Energy Group provides safe and reliable utility services to about 900,000 people in the Indianapolis area. Citizens operates its utilities for the benefit of customers and the community.

Media Contact Information

Laura O'Brien
(O) 317-927-4341
(C) 317-519-1515

Recent News

View All News