Public Safety Awards Presented at the 56th Annual Fire, Police & Deputy Sheriff’s Community Recognition Luncheon

Featured Image

Citizens Energy Group proudly honors local heroes as nominated by their peers from three public safety agencies.

INDIANAPOLIS – Awards and presentations today at the 56th Annual Fire, Police & Deputy Sheriff’s Community Recognition Luncheon honored public safety personnel representing the Indianapolis Fire Department (IFD), the Indianapolis Metropolitan Police Department (IMPD), and the Marion County Sheriff’s Office (MCSO). This is the only event where employees from all these agencies are honored together. Nominated by their peers, various officers, firefighters, and deputies received awards for outstanding service in the past year across a number of categories including agency-specific honors for rookies, civilian employees, administrative positions, community service work, and other specialized designations. 

The event culminated with the presentation of awards for Firefighter of the Year (presented to Engineer Brenden Sullivan); Police Officer of the Year (presented to Detective James Hurt); and Sheriff's Deputy of the Year (posthumously presented to Deputy John Durm who was killed in the line of duty in 2023).

A full list of awardees is included here.

Community leaders including Indianapolis Deputy Mayor Judith Thomas, IFD Chief Ernest Malone, IMPD Chief Christopher Bailey, Marion County Sheriff Kerry Forestal, and Citizens Energy Group President & CEO Jeffrey Harrison led the recognition of public safety personnel and presented awards at the ceremony, witnessed by a large gathering of luncheon attendees.

The Annual Fire, Police & Deputy Sheriff’s Community Recognition Luncheon is sponsored by more than 40 businesses and local organizations, with Citizens Energy Group serving as the title sponsor. Citizens is proud to continue the tradition of recognizing outstanding public safety personnel, which was first established by the Indianapolis Water Company in 1968. 

About Citizens Energy Group
Citizens Energy Group provides safe and reliable utility services to about 900,000 people in the Indianapolis area. Citizens operates its utilities for the benefit of customers and the community.

Media Contact Information
Ben Easley
Phone: 317-519-1515